equals in tech awards logo.png


Nominations now open!


About the Awards

The Equals in Tech Awards are given every year to organizations and individuals working to help girls and women gain equal internet access, digital skills and opportunities in the tech industry.

2021 Call for Nominations

We are delighted to announce the call for nominations for the 2021 EQUALS in Tech Awards! The awards are given every year to organizations and initiatives -- both large and small -- working to help girls and women gain equal internet access, digital skills, and opportunities in the tech industry.

Individuals and organizations around the world can nominate their own initiatives or those of others for an award in any of five categories:

  • Access

  • Skills

  • Leadership in Tech

  • Leadership in SME

  • Research

Nominations are open until 31 July, so send in your initiatives soon! Questions? Check our FAQ.

The 2021 EQUALS in Tech award ceremony will be held in the last quarter of the year. More details to come.

Deadline: 31 July 2021

The 2021 EQUALS in Tech Award nomination form is available in six languages:


to the

2020 EQUALS in Tech

Award winners!



2020 Finalists



Improving women's and girls’ digital technology access, connectivity and security


IT-enabled solutions to empower female doctors to re-join the workforce and deliver quality healthcare to patients located far away.

Technology applications designed to make public spaces safer and more inclusive for women.

Mobile - App.jpg

Mobile app offering Brazilian domestic workers access to empowering information that improves work conditions.

Mia Collis_Jan 2020-6 copy.jpg

Online network that gives private, slum-based informal daycares in Nairobi knowledge and tools to offer high-quality, reliable and sustainable service

Digital Grassroots at 2019 IFF.jpg

Female-led organization aiming to engage youth; connect communities; and create services that respond to the digital needs of underserved communities.



Supporting development of science, technology, engineering and math skills of women and girls


Digital education program that aims to use technology to improve the education of millions of girls and boys around the world through technology.

Community of female software engineers in Israel, established with the goal of reaching 50% female software engineers in the Israeli high-tech industry.


Organization that educates, trains, and mentors African girls and young women from underserved communities ain science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM).

Wetech Wic 2019 - Participants 5.jpg

Platform and innovation center aimed at promoting and supporting African women in the fields of technology and entrepreneurship.

Image-6 (1).jpg

First female coding club in Cambodia; encourages female students to study tech, thus directly improving their opportunities for better-paid jobs in the future.



Promoting women in decision-making roles within the ICT field


Programmatic efforts designed to develop young girls in STEM and help them remain in the STEM pool.


National program providing opportunities for all, and particularly women, providing trainings on emerging technologies and empowering digital champions.


Gender and technology targeted interventions to bridge the gender digital divide by holding events and activities.

RightsTech Women 3.jpg

Organization advancing the human rights of women and girls in STEM fields through advocacy in the United Nations and in other relevant international organizations.


Career development platform offering a repeatable, scalable framework to build value, increase earnings, and bridge the gender wage/opportunity gap.



Promoting women’s leadership in technology SMEs


Education, training, technical assistance and advisory services to the most vulnerable and disadvantaged people, who are most often young women and girls.

Program to prepare private sector women employees to be national future leaders through coaching, projects, best practices, follow-up and direct teaching.


Organization that aims to identify and spark new ideas, nurture creative innovation and develop engaged change-making leaders and communities across Africa and beyond.


Program to strengthen the capacities of girls and young women, and increase their autonomy through sustainable projects and activities.


Community for women working in the cybersecurity industry and for women who want to join the industry. 



Initiatives working to expand digital gender divide knowledge in support of evidence-based decision-making


Study that set out to examine the mindsets in Russian society that cause gender inequality in the digital economy.


Project created by the College of Computer Science and Information Technology; goal is discovering talented women and developing their skills.

Not-for-profit association with a mission to promote the development of Internet policy.


Objective is to create an exchange space about women in science and technology and to diagnose the situation and its evolution in recent years.

Scientific gathering for female students in which they present their research and exchange views in a three-day open dialogue.

About Our Judges

The EQUALS in Tech Award finalists and winners are chosen by former winners, known as the Advisory Group, and experts from the EQUALS Steering Committee, composed of coalition leads, co-founders, and financial contributors.

What sort of projects can I nominate?
When is the deadline?
When and where is the awards ceremony?

Need more information about the EQUALS in Tech Awards? Consult our FAQ.